A cup of coffee and my laptop @ Bengaluru

 

Coffee
Image courtesy: ak9.picdn.net

The moment I stepped out of the airport, I felt a cool breeze blowing through my hair; and even though the day was sunny; I could hardly feel the heat. I was wearing a blazer and cruising through Bangalore. (Or Bengaluru, as it is now called.) In Delhi, I had left my house at 04:00 in the morning and by the time I boarded the flight at 06:30, I was sweating. And, I was in a sleeve-less t-shirt!

 

That was the drastic difference in weather I landed to.And, oh, the greenery! Huge trees lines up either side of the road, hiding the houses from view. The tall coconut trees were a signature. When you come from a dry part of the country, even Delhi seems greener, but this was something else altogether.

And, oh, the greenery! Huge trees lines up either side of the road, hiding the houses from view. The tall coconut trees were a signature. When you come from a dry part of the country, even Delhi seems greener, but this was something else altogether.

And, oh, the greenery! Huge trees line up either side of the road, hiding the houses from view. The tall coconut trees were a signature. When you come from a dry part of the country, even Delhi seems greener, but this was something else altogether.

The city looked pleasing to the eyes. I kept staring out the window like an excited kid, who does not need a reason to be happy.

And, the people too seemed much calmer and helpful. People actually stopped their cars to allow me to cross the road; they smiled and helped me out with the directions.

Well, when you are in a beautiful city and you do not know the places you could visit, what do you do? I completed my assignment and mostly spent the 36 hours that I was in Bangalore at coffee shops!

On day 1, when I got done with my work at 3pm, I was dropped off at the centre of city. I was in the middle of the marketplace. I could have explored the city, gone to the nearby shops or the puns that were no longer allowed to serve alcohol.

Instead, I sat at a Starbucks for five hours, typing out my assignment and then my blog, watching a funny action movie and sipping cocoa cappuccino. (I strongly suggest you try it if you haven’t already.) Wait, why am I complaining?

For the past four weeks, I have just been doing all the pending chores at home and all I wanted to do was sit at a coffee shop and read. It’s like life handed me the chance to chill!

However, people were giving me weird looks. I don’t blame them, though. A beautiful woman *blushing*, sitting alone in one corner of a coffee shop, not looking up from her computer to even notice the people sitting around her, watching something on the laptop and laughing her ass off. I am sure that presents a funny image.

It was almost five hours, before my friend could leave from work and meet me. We ended up talking and drinking till 3 am. It was after a long time that I stayed awake that late, given that I had left my bed at 4 in the morning to make the flight.

The next day, obviously, we woke up late and had a greasy breakfast. Got so late that the church I wanted to visit has shut for the afternoon. After walking around the beautiful lanes, we finally left for the airport.

And guess what happened? I ended up sitting at a coffee shop, fiddling with my laptop for two more hours. My flight had been delayed. Google had prompted me, but the flight operator would not confirm. And, the ground-staff informed me about the change of schedule only after I had checked-in.

I had no way of going out of the airport and chilling at a coffee shop, so i did the same inside.

All in all, I feel relaxed and ready to take on a hectic schedule again. However, I do wish that I get a chance to explore the beautiful city again…

Leave a Reply

