Love Harry Potter spells? Ascribe a book to it!

 

A girl reading
This is how I love to do it. (Image Courtesy: http://www.lifegate.com/)

Here is a fun activity that I found on one of the blogs that I follow, and thought it would be interesting to do it. I am tagging a friend, who I know will enjoy doing this. And, you should do it too if you think it is interesting!

1) EXPECTO PATRONUM (a childhood book connected with good memories)

Harry Potter. Duh. I grew up with it. I used to read before, but the world of Harry Potter made me realise the wonders that books had to offer.

I get nostalgic every time I see an Enid Blyton book. I would love to go back to reading the Famous Five series or the Malory Towers series.

Then, of course, there is Tom Sawyer and Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain.  

2) EXPELLIARMUS (a book that took you by surprise)

Not really books, but short stories are the ones that I think took me by surprise. For eg, Roald Dahl’s ‘Lamb to the Slaughter‘ or Kate Chopin’s ‘The Story of an Hour‘. Or, the story ‘The Romance of Certain Old Clothes‘  by Henry James, which I first read in a collection of horror stories and something written in the preface of the book stuck with me forever.

“Horror stories cover a much wider span of human experiences. Not only do they include ghost and supernatural stories, but …. it can offer the widest variety of feelings of dread and is always very unpredictable.”

This definition of horror being created by way of not ghosts and monster, but also actions of other men and other beings is clearly demonstrated in the story ‘The Romance of Certain Old Clothes’ or ‘The Birds‘ by Daphne Du Maurier, which was later put on celluloid by none other than Alfred Hitchcock.

3) PRIOR INCANTATO (the last book you read)

Anxiety for Beginners by journalist Eleanor Morgan, where she talks about how she faced anxiety and that it does not have a typical face. She takes us through journies of other people, rich and famous and the next-door neighbours, who have lived with anxiety. If you think you suffer from anxiety disorder, it is a good book to start your research with as it also talks about the various kinds of diagnosable anxiety disorders and the kind of treatment available.

4) ALOHOMORA (a book that introduced you to a genre you hadn’t considered before)

The Palace of Illusions by Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni. This was the first book I read where the author writes about not a very popular rendition of the epic Mahabharata. Since then, I have read several such books on renditions of historical events or mythology.

5) RIDDIKULUS (a funny book you have read)

Come to think of it, I haven’t really read very many funny books. I like non-fiction, thrillers and horror stories. But, I am currently reading the book ‘How to be a Bawse‘ by YouTube star Lilly Singh aka Superwoman and I think it is very funny, especially the references she makes to popular culture. The book ‘Yes, My Accent is Real‘ by British Indian Actor Kunal Nayyar was also funny and relatable.

6) SONOROS (a book you think everyone should know about)

Stories by Sarat Chandra Chattopadhyay. His stories about life and struggles of people in Bengal in intriguing and I would like to read it in Bengali. Just that I am not very fluent in reading Bengali, although I can speak and understand the language. I am getting there, though.

7) OBLIVIATE (a book or spoiler you would like to forget having read)

Spoilers for George R R Martin’s ‘A Song of Ice and Fire‘ series. Yes, I started off with watching the show, but I grew to love the books and I would like to finish reading it without coming across ardent fans discussing various theories.

I would also have loved to obliviate the spoilers for novels by Dan Brown, my friends ruined the ending for the last couple of books by the author.

As for books, I would love to obliviate ‘Half-Girlfriend’ or whatever I read of it, and ‘Revolution 2020’ by Chetan Bhagat. (I am not going to provide any links here. Do not read these books!)

8) IMPERIO (a book you had to read for school)

We did not really have to read a complete book as part of our syllabus. But we had excerpts from several in our English literature coursebook, which I read because I wanted to, like ‘The Chronicles of Narnia‘ and plays by Shakespeare.

(Just writing that I had to read no books as part of my syllabus kind of made me sad. We need to encourage children to read more and one way to do it is make it a part of the curriculum)

9) CRUCIO (a book that was painful to read)

‘Mary- A mother’s story’ by Patricia Collins. The book is about the relationship of the author with her brain damaged child. My mother had picked up the book because she found the summary on the cover very interesting, and so did I. The only problem — neither she nor I could get past a few pages into the book.

Another pick would be Robin Cook’s first novel ‘Year of the Intern‘. I think I have read almost all of his novels and it took me only a couple of days to finish them because I am fascinated with medical science, combine it with thriller and what’s not to like about it? But, this one was different. And, again I couldn’t get past the first 20-odd pages.

10) AVADA KEDAVRA (a book that can kill)

I am still alive, so I assume I haven’t come across one.

 

Leave a Reply

